Blue Like Jazz

This week I spent two whole days at home with the flu…or at least very flu-like symptoms.

Much of that time was spent in bed with a few saltines, some ginger ale, and a great book, “Blue Like Jazz” by Donald Miller.

Blue Like Jazz Cover

Miller writes in a style similar to Anne Lamott, one of my favorite writers. I highly recommend this book to those who are hoping to find a kindred spirit in the search for an authentic faith and life with Christ.

One of the lines that has stuck with me: “By reducing Christian spirituality to formula, we deprive our hearts of wonder.” (205) “I don’t think there is any better worship than wonder.” (206)

So often the Psalmists capture this heart of wonder and I find my prayer life enriched when I can pray those words…even when I have lost that sense of wonder myself. Psalm 8 is one of those Psalms that captures a sense of wonder…but what an interesting thought to experience that wonder of God’s majesty as worship! Thanks, Donald Miller.

3 Responses to Blue Like Jazz

  1. Christie says:

    I read that book last year and loved it, too. I thought it was a really good cross over type read for someone searching for understanding about who God really is in our lives. Mike Yaconelli wrote a book called “Dangerous Wonder” about children’s faith that you would probably enjoy, too. 😉

  2. revsarah says:

    Christie, thanks for the suggestion!

  3. Pingback: Welcome Warrenton Lifestyle Readers! « Kataggello…to proclaim publicly

Leave a Reply

