“This I Believe”

I’m a big fan of NPR’s “This I Believe” radio program (that I download via podcast). One of the recent essays that touched my heart is called: Strangers Bring Us Closer to God.

The author, raised as an atheist, wandered into a church one morning and as she ate a piece of bread and took a sip of wine, found herself radically transformed….

That first communion knocked me upside-down. Faith turned out not to be abstract at all, but material and physical. I’d thought Christianity meant angels and trinities and being good. Instead, I discovered a religion rooted in the most ordinary yet subversive practice: a dinner table where everyone is welcome, where the despised and outcasts are honored.

She has started a food pantry at her church where the food is distributed from the altar! Can you imagine if we moved our food distribution out of the fellowship hall and into the sanctuary? What if it was an act of worship to feed our hungry brothers and sisters? How might that not only transform us (those who serve as Christ served) but might it help make Christ real to some who who are lonely and needy not only for food to survive…but spiritual food to thrive?

3 Responses to “This I Believe”

  1. beth howard says:

    Hello Sarah,

    I sent this to John a few weeks ago as it really touched my heart as well. I’m so glad you are an NPR listener and you also heard this. Here’s a thought; ask people at WUMC to write their own “This I believe” essay. It does not have to be very long. Another good series is “Storycorps” some of which have left me weeping at work.

    Peace and blessings,

    Beth Howard
    Broadcast Librarian
    National Public Radio

  2. revsarah says:

    Beth, oh that would be such a fun experience to do! Thanks for the information on “Storycorps” that is a new podcast for me! Blessings, Sarah

  3. Pingback: Welcome Warrenton Lifestyle Readers! « Kataggello…to proclaim publicly

Leave a Reply

