Unexpected Blessings

Last week, as I wrestled with the question of why there is evil in this world I had to face the fact that sometimes the things we call evil might not be…even some horrible illnesses might be blessings in disguise. This is something that can be hard to swallow sometimes, but I was very moved by this message from the late Tony Snow in which he shares:

“Blessings arrive in unexpected packages—in my case, cancer.”

Thanks to a member alerting me to this article he wrote a year before his death.

2 Responses to Unexpected Blessings

  1. Kim says:

    I agree. This past weekend I had a wonderful reunion with some old childhood friends. At the end of the day, my friend’s 4 year old son and her two young nephews, killed his guinea pig in a horrible way.

    The blessing in disguise? My friend’s son told her he was sorry. My friend, not a follower of Christ, told him he didn’t need to apologize to her, but to God. She prayed with him and he asked God for his forgiveness.

    It’s nice to see God drawing them both to Him.

    -A friend directed me to your blog. I’m really enjoying it.

  2. revsarah says:

    I am constantly amazed at how God transforms the most horrible things of this world! May this be a transforming experience for that family. Thanks for the positive words about the blog – I’m new to the blogosphere and am enjoying the process of learning!

Leave a Reply

