Jesus, remember me

Thanks to those of you who read my blog and have asked me when I’ll start posting again! I needed to take Lent as a time for listening instead of posting, but I’m glad to be back sharing with you again. You can look for my regular Thursday posts now 😀 (or subscribe through the RSS feed so you’ll see in your feed reader when I’ve posted.)

After reflecting on tonight’s Maundy Thursday service I am struck by the words read from Luke 23: 39-43,

One of the criminals hanging beside him scoffed, “So you’re the Messiah, are you? Prove it by saving yourself—and us, too, while you’re at it!” But the other criminal protested, “Don’t you fear God even when you have been sentenced to die? We deserve to die for our crimes, but this man hasn’t done anything wrong.” Then he said, “Jesus, remember me when you come into your Kingdom.” And Jesus replied, “I assure you, today you will be with me in paradise.”

The criminal who joined Jesus in paradise is the very first person impacted by the work on the cross.

Even at the end Jesus was transforming lives one by one through his love. Amazing! Thanks be to God that there is hope for us all.

One Response to Jesus, remember me

  1. Marcia Payne says:

    I’m so glad you are back. I’ve missed reading your inspiritual postings. Maundy Thursday’s Service was the most moving service I’ve experienced in the last 11 years that we have attended WUMC. Thank you for being a part of our lives. We love you!

Leave a Reply

