To proclaim publicly

When I had to think of a name for my blog I thought I knew what I meant when I chose the Greek word meaning, “to proclaim publicly.” I’ve always loved the mental image of St. Paul preaching at Mars Hill in Athens and the word in that verse is Kataggello.

But, over these past few months I have learned a lot more about what it really means to proclaim publicly. My friends, the Lyons family, have willing shared their journey over the last 20 months since Ian was diagnosed with cancer, at the age of 12.

They have blogged at http://www.caringbridge.org/visit/ianlyons to keep friends and family updated with the latest information- whether they were in the hospital or at home, whether news was “good” or “bad.” They have been obedient to God in choosing to share their faith journey with the world.

My heart has been heavy these last few weeks as I read about Ian’s bodily decline. My friend that moved out to Colorado to help the Lyons was able able to keep me connected to their faith journey as we all prayed for Ian’s healing.

Christians KNOW in their heads that true and complete healing comes when we leave this earth and are welcomed into God’s eternal home. So when I read that Ian had died I felt a sense of peace and gratitude knowing he was healed! However, there was also the peircing pain in my heart knowing that this world is no longer blessed with the amazing personality and sense of humor of Ian Lyons.

My heart breaks for his mother, Renee, who has sought “God sightings” each day on the journey to know that God truly has been at work for good in all of this, as Romans 8:28 promises.

My heart breaks for his father, David, who has been so faithful and honest and raw in his writing shared with all who read the journal.

My heart breaks for his siblings as they make sense of this all and find a way to make “home” feel like “home” again when it will never be like it was before.

Finally, my heart breaks for my friend who obeyed God’s call to move to Colorado last spring and opened her heart and soul to being part of the care team that would tend to Ian as he was birthed into new life with God above.

With all of these broken pieces of my heart there isn’t much left to go on but my head – where I KNOW that Ian is healed, and living life more abundantly than I will know in this world!

I think this is exactly what Paul meant when he wrote to the Thessalonians that “we should not grieve as those who have no hope.” Because I am grieving, but I am clinging firmly and solidly to the promises of Easter and that we indeed have hope that death does not win.

Hallelujah! Christ is Risen! He is Risen Indeed! Hallelujah!

Leave a Reply

