Book review: Fearless

I’ve always enjoyed Max Lucado’s writings, and his most recent book Fearless lived up to my expectations for inspiration and hope. He has a way of sharing his own life experience and connecting it straight to the Biblical story. Sometimes, I admit, I am a little jealous about some of this stories. He got to go in a fighter plane one day…not something I ever expect to do! However, it finds a connection to my own life…when I’m in a figurative downward spiral.

From his experience in the plane sitting right behind the fighter pilot:

Didn’t take me long to figure out where to stare. No more looking down or out. My eyes were on the pilot. If T-Mac was okay, I was okay.
I know where to stare in turbulence. Peter learned the same lesson the hard way. Exchange the plane for a thirty-foot fishing boat, the San Antonio sky for a Galilean sea, and our stories begin to parallel. “But the boat was now in the middle of the sea, tossed by the waves, for the wind was contrary” (Matt. 14:24).

I can think of many times when I’ve felt like I had no where to look in my life without getting nauseated by what I’d see. Until I remembered to just look at Christ, and focus there until the turbulence passed. Max has such a way of reminding us of these simple truths! Thanks, Max.

One Response to Book review: Fearless

Leave a Reply

