Faithful finances

In the last three years I’ve personally put a lot of energy into focusing my budget and money management skills to be faithful to Christian discipleship. I have seen a lot of changes in me and the way I approach giving. There are a lot of people who will give some sort of testimony like “I trusted God and gave ____ amount of money I didn’t have and the next day I got a raise/found it on the street/had it mysteriously show up in my mailbox.” I don’t have any stories like that. That might be the way some people have experienced God blessing their giving. My concern is that some people take that a step further and say, “If you commit ____ money to the Lord it will be like an investment that pays off really well and you’re guaranteed a monetary return!” That isn’t true, but there are some people who make giving money to God/the church/ministry/a sketchy TV evangelist sound like some sort of “get rich quick” scheme.

Today I read the absolute best post from a pastor telling a story about someone stepping out in faith and committing money to God. It absolutely articulated my view on the way that God changes our hearts towards money!

I encourage you to read the whole story, but if you don’t have time this is the part that grabbed me: after sharing a testimony from a man who committed to give money he didn’t have and got a raise the next day, Pete Wilson says this:

I love this story. But probably not for the reason you think. Don’t miss the main point. The main point is not that he stepped out in faith and committed $2,000 and 3 days later got at $2,000 raise. In fact, I believe he  may have received that raise even if he hadn’t made the financial commitment he made.

What I do know is this. If Josh hadn’t stepped out in faith and trusted God in the midst of his fear at best he would have received just another dollar an hour raise. Instead he just had an unforgettable encounter with the God of the universe.

Amen!

One Response to Faithful finances

  1. Pete Wilson says:

    Glad the story was helpful to you. Thanks for the link.

Leave a Reply

