Book Review: Primal

The blizzard that hit Northern Virginia last weekend provided the perfect opportunity to read my review copy of Mark Batterson’s latest book: “Primal: A Quest for the Lost Soul of Christianity.”

I had the privilege of hearing him speak earlier this year and he spoke with great passion and fire – the passion and fire contained in this book. It isn’t written for you to consume Mark’s fire for God, instead it is written with the intent of igniting your own fire for God deep in your soul.

He doesn’t shy away from tough topics, and starts right off with the connection between our checkbooks and our spiritual lives. At this Christmas season when many Christians can’t fathom the idea of celebrating Christmas without giving gifts to their loved ones I wonder why people get all uptight when the church asks for money? If the church is a faithful steward of the gifts, supporting God’s work in this world, wouldn’t people want to express their love to God by supporting ministry? Mark gets right to the heart of this idea when he said, “You can give without loving, but you can’t love without giving” (32).

Absolutely! It has been exciting for me to see the spiritual growth God brought to me through learning to be a disciplined budgeter and giver. I don’t have much to give, and I truly relish giving what I can. The year-end letters from ministries that I support excites me when I read about transformed lives through continued ministry that I joyfully support.

Mark writes honestly, sharing his own spiritual growth with the bumps and bruises that we all get on this life journey. He read the Bible cover to cover in 40 days and I believe that a drive to do that comes from a man after God’s own heart, and he has willingly poured out his heart and soul onto the pages of “Primal.” If you’re looking to get excited about God’s work in this world be sure to read this book!

Note: I was given a copy of this book by the publisher, and I look forward to sharing it with my colleagues.

Leave a Reply

