525,600 minutes

I’m a fan of the musical Rent. One of the songs from the show that stuck with me was “Seasons of Love” a.k.a. “525,600 minutes.” One (non-leap) year contains that many minutes. The song begs the question, “How do you measure the life of a woman or a man?” That song has been in my head today as I remember young Ian Lyons.

My mind keeps going back to a night in 2008. My friend and I had driven to Colorado to the Lyons’ home where my friend was going to move in and help out for a while. Around the dinner table that night the topic of conversation turned to how many “days old” each person was. Since I have a calculator on my iPhone I was happy to oblige with some calculations. 365 days ago Ian stopped adding days onto this life and starting living life that can’t be measured in our time.

Even after his rare cancer diagnosis, and in the midst of his treatments, he made the most of each day and showed others how to live. Some days it meant making homemade humus and cracking jokes with his family, and other days it meant going for a hike.

Why is it that when life is going well time flies and we don’t notice the minutes and the days as they pass us by? Then, crisis causes us to pause and really notice each moment. I hope that we might all find a way to stop and relish life when it is going well so we can savor the joyful moments, knowing that no matter how long any of us are on this planet it will be just a short time in the span of our eternal life.

I look forward to what comes in the next life:

When we’ve been there ten thousand years,
Bright shining as the sun,
We’ve no less days to sing God’s praise,
Than when we first begun.

Amazing Grace (last verse)

2 Responses to 525,600 minutes

  1. ren says:

    thanks sarah.

Leave a Reply

