Home again but still on Africa time!

I’ve always been a night owl so it has been an interesting experience this week for my body to operate 6 hours later than EST…which means I feel like I’ve slept until 1 p.m. when my body wakes up at 7 a.m. on its own! This adjustment shouldn’t take too much longer and then my body can go back to life before my trip. However, my heart and spirit can not go back to how they were before my trip. God has opened my heart to new people and places that I will not forget and that will continue to influence me for years to come.

Yesterday I heard the news of riots in Maputo, the capital city of Mozambique. A month ago I would have had to consult a map to find Maputo. Yesterday my mind flashed to the places I’d be there and my first thought was, “I wonder if Victoria and her family are o.k.?” When we meet people who lives thousands of miles away that distance disappears in an instant when our hearts leap at the thought of tragedy striking someone we love. To the best of my knowledge no one I know what killed, but I know those who lives in the city were affected by the riots because it essentially caused public services to shut down.

The people are rioting over the increased cost of bread – from 4 mt to 5 mt. Last week the exchange rate was 37 mt to $1. That means the price of bread went from about 11 cents to about 14 cents. In my world this is a minuscule difference but some of the clergywomen I worked with haven’t been paid in three months, so finding any money at all to buy food is a challenge. People are hungry all over the world, but Mozambique was ravaged by war for so long (almost 26 years) and poverty reigns among the people so many who were barely scraping by will now go hungry as a result of this price increase.

My heart goes out to the families of the two children killed in the riots. May God’s Shalom prevail!

Over the next few weeks I’ll be posting frequently so that I can share with you daily reflections from my trip. Every single day was better than the day before – it was absolutely amazing! Thank you for praying for me and my team. We felt uplifted by your prayers and saw God’s hand at work in so many moments!

3 Responses to Home again but still on Africa time!

  1. Deb says:

    So true that having been to a new place, spent time with people, that the land and people become part of your soul. And when you hear about the place or people, the news reaches into your own soul too.

  2. Debra Seyferth says:

    Pastor Sarah,

    Welcome home. I was out of town last week, and I missed your sermon. As anticipated, you spoke about your mission experience and I missed it. I tried to locate it on line so I could listen to it now, but can only find sermons back in May and June. Please let me know if it is possible to view and listen to your message.

    I am enjoying your blog too. May God continue to bless you and all that you do. I look forward to seeing you in person, because I know you will be bubbling with excitement.

    Blessings, Debra

    • revsarah says:

      Debra, we’ve had some internet issues lately (switching the church’s ISP) but as soon as we’re up and running on full speed I know it will be posted online. It is a long one!! There was soooo much to share and simply not enough time to do it!

      I am going to offer a 3 week class in October on Tuesday nights to discuss mission. Not just my trip to Africa but thinking about mission in general. You might be interested in coming if you’re in town! Blessings, Pastor Sarah

Leave a Reply

