November 10 – a fav author + a fav teacher = a book I’m excited to read!

I’m a big fan of Jon Acuff, author of the book based on the blog, “Stuff Christians like.” I’m also a big fan of Dave Ramsey, the guy who taught me about paying off my debts so that I’m more free to give and save and live with financial peace.

When Acuff took a job as part of Ramsey’s team I had no idea what to expect from either of them really. What sort of ad copy would come from Jon’s experience in advertising for awesome places like Chick-fil-a and help more people learn about financial peace? How can a money guy use a comedy guy?

I was pleasantly surprised to read this week that just 10 weeks into his new job Acuff has a great new book headed to the publishers: Gazelles, Baby Steps, and 37 other things Dave Ramsey taught me about debt.

The best part of this cover? The description: “written and lived by” Jon Acuff.

Jesus talked a lot about money because I think our checkbooks closely reflect our deepest values and choices in life. I’m looking forward to hearing about Jon’s experience on the Ramsey plan for financial peace – I imagine there have been some bumps and bruises along the way. I know I’ve had my frustrations but am amazed at the difference in my finances today than when I started in Ministry on July 1, 2007. All thanks to stumbling upon some Financial Peace materials in our church library!

Leave a Reply

